A More Uncluttered Life: Project 333 – A Week In

A More Uncluttered Life: Adventures of a Subversive Reader

So, I’ve been doing Project 333 for a week now, which really isn’t long at all. I didn’t think I’d have any great insights after such a short amount of time, but it turns out that simplifying my wardrobe has had some immediate effects.

I’m taking more care with my clothes

This is all I have for three months, I’d better look after them. Not that I am particularly hard on clothes, but I’m making sure that I wash regularly (I throw them in with some of Squirm’s clothes to make a full load) and hang my clothes up. This has another bonus because I always know where to find my clothes now!

I actually enjoy getting dressed

I feel kind of excited when it’s time to get dressed for the day. All of the clothes hanging in my wardrobe are favourites and I don’t feel any kind of guilt or regret looking at them. Instead I get the excitement of seeing how I can put enjoyable pieces of clothing together to make a nice ensemble.

I need to shop smarter

When I put together the next three months in September it will be worth spending a little more money and buying some good quality clothes. One of my new long sleeve shirts has a small hole in it, while older (more expensive) shirts are still in fabulous condition after years. Spending that little extra is worth it.

It’s worth considering a reduced wardrobe for Squirm

We’re on the edge of another size up and I’m dreading collecting new clothes in Squirm’s next size. Instead of buying lots and lots of stuff, I think I’ll step back and really think about what he needs. We probably won’t be able to get away with 33 items – we still need to do too many changes when he gets ridiculously dirty – but we could definitely have a less crowded drawer than he has now.

4 comments

    1. It just amazes me how much I’ve bought – a lot on a whim! I’m going to sit down and think about what he really needs. Then I might splurge a little and buy some of it better quality, since he’s getting to the age where he doesn’t race through clothes quite as fast (and some of his cheaper stuff got holes almost immediately)

  1. This really encouraging. Just today I started Project 333. I’ve been wanting to do it for a while and been preparing but today I chose my 33 items and packed the rest away out of sight. Good luck!

  2. I’ll start my project 333 tomorrow and I am keen to find out if I will notice the same effects. All I know is that after picking out my 33 items, I already feel so much lighter 😉

Leave a Reply

