A More Uncluttered Life: Project 333 – an introduction

A More Uncluttered Life: Project 333

One of my biggest clutter traps is my wardrobe. I have a tendency to throw my hands up in the air when it comes to fashion, bemoaning the fact that I’m always frumpy, never fashionable, and I never know what to buy! So I end up buying half a dozen trendy things, most of which don’t fit very well, and I find myself reverting back to my ‘frumpy clothes’ before I know it.

Recently I came to a bit of a realisation about my wardrobe – I don’t need to be trendy. I need to be comfortable. I need to be able to keep up with Squirm and dress appropriately for the occasion. But I don’t need to emulate my friends, other bloggers or people I see on TV – I just need to be myself!

Turns out myself is actually pretty comfortable in jeans most the times, particularly in autumn and winter. Myself also loves nice t-shirts, cardigans, scarves and funky shoes. And once I’d bought some well fitting post-pregnancy jeans (my pre-pregnancy ones were falling off me) I realised I liked the way I looked when I left the house – and I was comfortable.

Which is where Project 333 comes in. I’d seen this around before – a friend of mine talked about it recently, and it’s similar to some other clothing organisation challenges I’ve seen before. The idea is simple – wear 33 items or less for 3 months.

At first that seems too limiting – but then you realise that 33 items doesn’t include underwear, sleepwear, exercise clothes or in-home lounge wear. Suddenly the project looks much more accessible and doable. In fact, it almost starts to look exciting.

So today I started looking through my clothes and I started counting. I realised that I mostly wore three pairs of jeans – my two new pairs and an old pair (which I don’t wear out of home, but I wear to ‘work’ at home, therefore should be counted. I pulled some cardigans aside, as well as a black dress, a skirt and my jacket. A handful of t-shirts and I still hadn’t made 33 items.

This is where it got tricky for me. I’d already decided I wasn’t going to include scarves into my ’33’ – I’ve spent too much time crocheting nice ones not to wear them! But would I include shoes or not? In the end, I decided not to – I really like my shoes, and I do rotate my way through them pretty consistently. I made a deal with myself, instead, that I could only include shoes which fit into my wardrobe shoe organiser – and I had to declutter that first. (I ended up throwing a pile and donating another pile.) I’ll keep an eye on that though to decide whether more of them will go.

So, 33 items. The rest of my clothing was packaged up or put into the washing basket to be tackled this week (I’ll go through them soon to find a few bags to donate, because even packed up they won’t fit in the space I have.) The dirty clothes in my 33 were washed today, the rest hung on the 33 coathangers in my wardrobe.

My shoe organiser - I even managed to fit my slippers in!

My shoe organiser – I even managed to fit my slippers in!

Project 333 Introduction: Adventures of a Subversive Reader

33 Coat hangers ready for 33 items. A lot of my chosen clothes needed to be washed, so I got onto that today šŸ™‚

What am I trying to achieve with Project 333?

  • To see if I can enjoy the clothes I have more
  • To look for different ways of putting an outfit together
  • To keep up to date with my washing
  • To look for more things to declutter
  • To make life easier when I’m getting dressed

Could you only wear 33 different items for 3 months? Or could you do less?

17 comments

  1. I love a de-clutter! Or a change of season … it’s like getting a whole new wardrobe out of the stuff you already have. I love your shoes … especially the orange ones! Cheers, Alison #IBOT

  2. fabulous – i have heard of this but love seeing the visuals of your post. good luck. – deb xx

  3. What a great idea – I may have to give it a try although I don’t think I have 33 items of clothes that actually fit me !!!!
    Have the best day !
    Me

  4. We have the same slippers – and guess what I’m wearing right now!!!!

    I’ll be interested to hear how you go. The idea of 33 things only panics me, but you’re right, realistically it’s probably all my “go to” clothes anyways!

    Visiting from Team #IBOT xxx

    1. šŸ™‚ Slippers are the best at the moment.

      Once I counted it out, I was surprised at how much I had – but then I have the luxury of not needing work clothes, which makes it easier

  5. Love this idea! I actually don’t know if I would wear more than 33 items in three months; I tend to keep to the same things day in and day out, which is very doable in Darwin. You’ve got me thinking now…

    1. I was looking at the clothes hanging in my wardrobe just now and was a little shocked at how many there was! I think the real bonus is that I’m only looking at what I want to wear, not all the other clothes which I never wear

  6. I still don’t fit into a lot of my pre-pregnancy clothes (losing weight, but slowly), so I probably only wear 33 things now already! But I do have boxes of clothes that need to get sorted through…

    1. I lost a lot very quickly (sooo much fluid!) and I’m actually smaller than my pre-pregnancy size everywhere but around my belly and my right foot! Some of my old pre-pregnancy clothes fit great now, but some are too big and some are too small – so I’ve had to dig out the best ones and buy some new ones.

      The other problem I initially had was that all my clothes made me look like the teacher I used to be . . . teachers really have a clothing ‘style’!

Leave a Reply

