How I Decluttered My Study

Do you remember this?

Adventures of a Subversive Reader

Last November, I wrote about my study and the problem I was having getting it tidied.  Since then, I’ve been able to do very little – the study was just too close to Squirm’s room to get anything done during nap times – and the mess just kept piling up and up and up.

Finally I decided enough was enough. I don’t need a study, so much, but I want a studio to work in. I want a place to keep my crochet things safe and a place which will inspire me. And I want a room which is welcoming for Squirm. As it was, this room was far from welcoming.

So with the help of baby wearing and a pile of empty cardboard boxes to keep Squirm amused, I’ve set out decluttering and cleaning. I started with the books, setting targets and going through my bookshelves again and again, to remove any books I didn’t truly love or need. I gave 6 bags of books to a teacher friend, 3 bags to my cousin, 8 bags to op shops. Slowly I opened up shelf space, not to mention being able to find books I wanted to find!

The next step was organising craft items. Some of them were so old that they really needed to be thrown out. Others I’ve put aside for a friend. Some of the new shelf space was repurposed to hold yarn.

The hardest part – old ‘stuff’ I’d collected over the years and things from my parent’s house – was next. Suddenly I was throwing out invitations to Year 9 speech nights and Year 9 graphics assignments (I sucked at graphics; why on earth did I keep those?) Suddenly I was having to ask myself if I really needed things, if I really loved things, what might happen if I threw things away.

And slowly, I moved past my need to hold on to everything, and started throwing away. And slowly the room started clearing up and seemed bigger. And I felt lighter.

It’s not completely finished yet, but I feel like I’m getting somewhere. I feel like it could be a beautiful room to enjoy.

Just Getting Started Photos

Study declutter: Adventures of a Subversive Reader

There’s a desk under there somewhere

Study declutter: Adventures of a Subversive Reader

My bookshelf

Study declutter: Adventures of a Subversive Reader Study declutter05Study declutter: Adventures of a Subversive Reader Study declutter: Adventures of a Subversive Reader

Halfway Through Photos

Study declutter: Adventures of a Subversive Reader

I see floor!

Study declutter: Adventures of a Subversive Reader

Getting rid of those cardboard boxes was actually harder than getting rid of some of my other ‘stuff’ – I kept telling myself that I ‘needed’ them

Study declutter: Adventures of a Subversive Reader Study declutter: Adventures of a Subversive Reader

 

Nearly There . . .

Study declutter: Adventures of a Subversive Reader Study declutter: Adventures of a Subversive Reader Study declutter: Adventures of a Subversive Reader Study declutter: Adventures of a Subversive Reader

 

Have you ever taken on a big decluttering mission? What was the hardest part for you?

One comment

  1. Well done!!

    Hardest part for me is motivation. I get a bit done so its liveable and then never go back and finish it. Lol

Leave a Reply

