Subversive Reader Reviews: Quintana of Charyn (AWW2013)

Book reviews and AWW posts can be found here.

AWW2013 – Book 36

Quintana of Charyn

Adventures of a Subversive Reader: Quintana of Charyn

Melina Marchetta
Young Adult Speculative Fiction

Own book

~

I finally finished the Trilogy (I had to buy my own book, since the library copies were always out!) This is one of those books that kept me awake into the early hours because I just had to finish it right now!

We’re still following the fortunes of Quintana, Froi, Finnikin and Isaboe as their lives become more and more intertwined. Quintana finds herself incredibly close to Froi’s adopted homeland, following a path unknowingly set by Froi himself. Meanwhile, Froi is searching for Quintana.

This is one of those books where, like a lot a fantasies, it would all be so much easier if they just had access to phones, or even a telegraph service. Being able to communicate easily would take so much of the tension (all the things the reader knows and the characters don’t!) away. It might be a less thrilling read, but my nerves would be an awful lot better for it!

This is, though, a book about parents and children. I was really glad I hadn’t read it too close to Squirm’s birth, when birth stories were too close to enjoy. Now the birth stories twinged, but didn’t hurt in the way they might have in the past. I know this book is aimed at teenagers, but I would challenge those who enjoy it when they are younger to return to it when they are older, when there are younger people in their lives (either their own children, or the children of friends or siblings) because I think it’s one of those books (and series) which resonate differently at different times.

So, despite the fact it is a fantasy and I don’t do fantasy series, I absolutely loved it. It’s more than just fantasy, in fact, except for the setting and the world of princesses and kingdoms, the fantasy elements are remarkably subdued. It’s really a story of family, friendship, loyalty and love. And everyone can find something to love there.

awwbadge_2013
Leave a Reply

