Subversive Reader Reviews: Meet Nellie (AWW2013)

Book reviews and AWW posts can be found here.

AWW2013 – Book 33

Meet Nellie

Meet Nellie: Adventures of a Subversive Reader

Penny Matthews
Childrens Historical Novel

Library book

~

I think this is the last ‘girl’ I’ve read in the Our Australian Girls series. Nellie is an Irish orphan, sent out from Ireland which is in the grips of famine, to make a new life in Australia. She has high hopes for what the future might bring, but reality doesn’t always meet her hopes.

Nellie is a really bright, enthusiastic character. I loved how positive she was, but I also really enjoyed reading about her background, about the real problems faced by the people of Ireland during the famine. I was amazed that these young people would be sent on boat around the world, to situations which were often little more than slavery – there’s so many stories of how people ended up in Australia and I’m glad I got to know a little more about this one.

I do have to say, though, that this story started to drag a little for me by the end. I’m definitely not as interested in how it turns out as I am some of the other stories.

awwbadge_2013
Leave a Reply

