AWW Challenge: Week Seven and Eight

Follow my journey through the AWW 2013 challenge here

I’ve fallen into the challenge pretty hard now, heading quickly past 30 books for both Squirm’s challenge and my own. I think my obsession with the Our Australian Girls series is pretty clear, but it’s been interesting to look at other books in the children’s and young adult’s categories – and I have quite a few more lined up for the future. I also discovered my copies of Fair Dinkum Histories among my teaching books, and was pleased to find out that they were as good as I remembered.

When it comes to Squirm’s books, I’ve discovered a couple of firm new favourite authors including Frances Watts. We also enjoyed the $2 books which came with the Courier and Sunday Mail, which included two Australian Women Writers among them (with a total of four books).

There are times, though, when I feel like I might be getting too wrapped up in the challenge, and reading so many books by Australian Women Writers is leaving me with no time to read any other books – or a guilty feeling when I do read other books. I’m not sure if that’s a personal quirk of mine – getting so wrapped up in the challenge – or something that other people also feel.

Adventures of a Subversive Reader: Salt Rain

Subversive Reader Books

Adventures of a Subversive Reader: A Rat in a Stripy Sock

Squirm’s Books

Leave a Reply

