Subversive Reader Reviews: Cold Justice (AWW2013)

Book reviews and AWW posts can be found here.

AWW2013 – Book 21

Cold Justice

Adventures of a Subversive Reader: Cold Justice

Katherine Howell
Adult Mystery/Crime Novel

Library Book, Moreton Bay Regional Libraries

~

It’s been a while since I’ve read a crime/detective novel, and I tend to be really hit and miss when I do read them. I’ve never read them with the intention of ‘catching’ the criminal, I prefer to be taken along for the ride wherever it might take me. Which is why Katherine Howell’s Cold Justice was such a great read – it was definitely an exciting ride to be taken on!

I knew nothing about this series when I first picked up the book, so for the first couple of chapters I really felt like I’d been thrown in the deep end. I’ve since learned that Katherine Howell focuses on the same detective each book, but a different pair of paramedics – so all readers would have been thrown in the deep end with one part of the story. Lucky, it doesn’t take very long for the pieces to start to fall into place, and it’s an excellent chance for my inference skills to get a work out.

Ella Marconi is a detective coming back to the job after being shot. She’s been put on to a Cold Case to work out what happened to a 17 year old boy, Tim Pieters, who was killed nineteen years earlier. The girl who found the body, Georgie, is now a paramedic on ‘review’ after suffering workplace abuse in her old position. She comes to the attention of Ella, as well as her partner Freya who just happened to be an old school friend. Then there’s Tim’s family, who are all dealing with the reopening of the case in different and sometimes very strange ways.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I loved the different characters, the way the plot unravels and the way things interact. I really enjoyed the paramedics story and the way it interacted with Ella’s story. It may have been a little convenient the way it all came together by the end of the book – but I suppose that it sometimes the way it works in the real world – and a case that wasn’t solved by the end of the book, wouldn’t be half as interesting.

There’s a lot of positive talk around about Katherine Howell’s latest book in the series, and I will have to track it down! I really want to read more of this series and spend some more time with this fascinating character and different approach to crime fiction.

awwbadge_2013
One comment

Leave a Reply

