2013 Challenges: The Australian Women Writers Challenge

Find my 2013 reviews and posts here

 

It seems very strange to be writing about 2013 challenges, but at some point I will have to face the fact that there is less than a month left of 2012!

A friend of mine took on the Australian Women Writers Challenge this year. Although the highest level of the challenge is reading 10 books and reviewing 6, she took on a slightly higher personal challenge to read 40 and review 30! She’s almost there too!

The Australian Women Writers Challenge was set up to promote women writers in Australia and to address the gender imbalance in reviewed works.

awwbadge_2013

I was a little wary of taking on this challenge, until I looked at some of the books reviewed this year. Then I realised I can get a lot of them through my local library. And I just can’t resist a good challenge.

I’ll also be setting a personal goal – to read 20 (non-picture) books written by Australian Women Writers and to review at least 15 of them. I intend to get as many of them through the library as possible. I’m also going to aim to read books I haven’t read before.

So, what’s on my ‘list’ to possibly read? Well, read on . . .

2013 Australian Women Writers Challenge
  1. Cargo by Jessica Au
  2. Painted Love Letters by Catherine Bateson
  3. Girl Saves Boy by Steph Bowe
  4. Holier than Thou by Laura Buzo
  5. Cinnamon Rain by Emma Cameron
  6. A Brief History of Montmaray by Michelle Cooper
  7. Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley
  8. Dead Actually by Kaz Delaney
  9. The Puzzle Ring by Kate Forsyth
  10. The Children of the King by Sonya Hartnett
  11. One Long Thread by Belinda Jeffrey
  12. Silhouette by Thalia Kalkipsakis
  13. Divine Clementine by Hayley S Kirk
  14. Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
  15. Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta
  16. Friday Brown by Vicki Wakefield
  17. Love Shy by Lili Wilkinson
  18. Six Impossible Things by Fiona Anna Wood
  19. Empire Day by Diane Armstrong
  20. A Stranger in My Street by Deborah Burrows
2013 Australian Women Writers Challenge

No doubt there’ll be others that I add in, and some I just can’t get into, but at least this gives me a starting point.

So now, I reach out and challenge you – Will you try to read Australian Women Writers in 2013?

13 comments

    1. 🙂

      It’s amazing how easy it is to miss something like this, but there are so many good books being written by Australian women that are being passed over – I was reminded of this when I looked at the website (which I’ve actually linked to now!)

  1. 2013 is less then a month away! I hadn’t looked past Christmas yet, but wow, the year has gone so -fast-!

    I used to read books, then I had 4 sons, then I started blogging. So I haven’t read anything for ages. So my challenge will be to start again. I will be interested in your reviews so I can choose some books.

    1. We’ve got Squirm’s Baptism, Christmas and mine and my sister’s birthdays to get through this month! December is always hideously busy!

      I’m trying to set aside some time to read each day. I’m devouring the Trebizon school books on my ipad at the moment since Squirm has become a feeding machine in this heat!

  2. WOW – am bookmarking this post – who knew there was so much undiscovered talent in Oz – or maybe they’ve been discovered – I’ve just had my head under a rock. Thanks for sharing the line-up and the challenge – I may yet embark on it if time permits

  3. Good on you! I did it this year too, but I joined late (when I’d already reviewed many of them for the blog anyway) so I wasn’t very strategic. I look forward to watching your 2013 list and updating mine too!

  4. What an awesome idea!
    I haven’t read a good book in so long. Looking forward to doing that a bit over Christmas though 🙂

Leave a Reply

