Going Back to University

Accepting my Education degree

I’ve been to university twice now.

The first time, I was a young thing – only just turned 17 when I first walked through the Great Court at University of Queensland. I knew nothing – I didn’t even know how to reference properly – but I was young and anxious to learn everything. I completed a Bachelor of Arts with majors in Ancient History and History, but I also did classes in drama, philosophy, American politics and Ancient Greek language. It was a great time, overall. I loved the lectures and tutorials. Loved the atmosphere at UQ and loved learning.

A couple of years after completing that degree, I was back again, though at a different university and for a different purpose. This time I was at the Kelvin Grove campus of Queensland University of Technology, doing a graduate degree in Primary Education. It was a different type of university experience, much more focused on the outcome than the learning – though without the kind of lessons that would have made teaching easier.

Although there were early thoughts about going back to university to do a Masters degree, I finally settled on the fact that I was done with university. And now, with Squirm, I knew that was the case. I mean, trying to take a baby with me while doing a full course of study – well that’s just silly.

The problem is, well, I kind of like learning. When I was teaching, I would take on qualifications and courses that involved research and study. I may have grumbled about it from time to time, but I loved the focus it gave me. And I loved learning something new.

So, when I read about Coursera, it seemed kind of perfect. Free university courses offered from some of the best universities in the world. Respected professors taking advantage of online presenting methods to share their expertise with a much wider audience. Courses available in history, politics, computers, english, mathematics and more!

Before I really knew what I was doing, I had signed up for two courses which are running next year. The first one, which starts in January is an overview of Modern Global history. Which might sound a little dull to you, but really excites me. Also exciting is the fact that the course is being taken byΒ Philip Zelikow, who has written books on a number of topics which interest me.

Later in the year, I’ll tackle Archaeology’s Dirty Little Secrets, which promises to be a hands on introduction to archaeology and might have me doing some strange things.

I promise to keep you up to date with the courses as they start and progress. Especially if I have to do any really strange things for the Archaeology course πŸ™‚

What would you go back and study if you could study anything?

(Obviously, I’m not being sponsored by Coursera. I’m just quite excited by this)


27 comments

  1. I have never heard of that. It sounds great. I’m sure my husband would be interested. I feel like I’ve been studying for 10 years so I am taking a welcome break at the moment. I dont have much to show for 10 years because I have too many interests.

    1. πŸ™‚ I never finished my honours year because other interests took over. Or maybe just because I couldn’t finish a thesis on Athenian Agrarian Politics based on the works of Aristophanes (read in the original ancient Greek . . .)

  2. There is nothing better than learning new things – be it at Uni, on a course or just thru visits to new places or museums. I am astounded how little I know and what an amazing place the world is. Good for you! I don’t blame you for being excited!

  3. Occasionally I go oooh… at the thought of new subjects, especially anthropology… My husband is still studying, and to be honest I can’t believe he’ll ever stop. Learning is so enticing and there’s something so wonderful about new worlds opening up! We’re so lucky with the opportunities we have! Archaeology’s dirty secrets sounds fantastic!

  4. I’ve just finished a grad dip in education … And plan to go back for more again (am I crazy)! I love learning, can’t get enough of it and doing it online will be for me the only way I can manage it into the future. This sounds awesome.

    1. I think I got a bit disillusioned after my education degree, but then I did some study on ICTs in the classroom and more on Underachieving Gifted and Talented students and fell in love with learning again. I’m also reading a lot on reading with young children and babies at the moment

  5. Oh, I wish I had your drive. I went back to University but deferred….I am still in “deferred” mode.
    My problem is that I wish my Psychology degree was finished rather than going back and studying for that Psych degree 😦
    Becc
    Spreading the #FYBF luv πŸ™‚

  6. That doesn’t sound boring at all!! I have already ‘gone back once’ – I did a post-grad cert, equivalent to third of a Masters, but I have no real desire to finish it. Creative writing would be my thing for further study πŸ™‚

  7. Good on you! I think it’s great that you’re so motivated.
    I did a course earlier this year and last year (Nutrition Studies) and I’m still pondering on whether to continue to get my Advanced Diploma. I hadn’t heard of Coursera but I think I’ll have a look into it now.

  8. Both those courses sound fantastic!
    If I was going to go back and study it would probably be psychology or graphic design. Totally different but both things I love. Graphic Design would be for a practical end result to use for work, psychology would be more for my own fun & enjoyment.

  9. I only studied my degree after working full time for a number of years. I was 6 months into studying part time while working full time when I fell pregnant !!! I finally finished my degree and then after moving to Australia I decided to follow my passion and do a Diploma in Reflexology and Massage. I did my Cert IV and then the Diploma so that clients can claim on their private health cover. I don’t think I will go back to studying again – I prefer to exercise !!!
    Have a great week !
    Me
    #FYBF visitor

  10. These courses sound like a great idea. After working for awhile at a Museum and being one of the few non-archaeologists, I reckon that would be high on my list if I was ever going to go back to uni. My PhD broke me a bit and I swore I’d never even read a book let alone study for many years! I did though – both. It’s addictive.

  11. I’m addicted to learning and have been to uni twice. I got my undergrad in 2002. And then I moved back to Aus but had to wait for my citizenship so I could enrol again. While waiting I did a Cert through long distance course. Once I got citizenship I went back to uni and will be graduating in Feb 2013. I plan to enrol to do PhD in June 2013. So summer will be spent writing a proposal to submit, lol.

  12. Good on you! I have been thinking about doing the same thing, but although I have the desire, I severely lack in time.
    Look forward to hearing how you find the courses.

Leave a Reply

