Getting the Blog Organised

Slowly, over the last two months, I’ve been working out how Adventures of a Subversive Reader is going to work. Some things I’ve tried have worked really well. Others – not so much.

At the moment, I have a rough calendar worked out for each week. Monday is Library Tour day, with a new library tour each week. Tuesday is a blog post for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesdays). Wednesday is Squirm’s book reviews. Friday is Smell the Roses Day. There will also be a post of some sort on Thursdays, and possibly some posts on the weekend.

As I start to enjoy the community I’ve found while blogging, I wanted to open up to the possibility of guest blog posts. I’d thoroughly welcome Guest Library posts, if you feel like talking about your local or favourite library. These wouldn’t be overly scheduled, but would run on Mondays. If anyone wanted to contribute a guest book review, that would also be welcomed – particularly for children’s books.

If you have any suggestions or a blog post, feel free to email me at subversivereader@gmail.com or just leave a comment below!

6 comments

  1. I admire your planning. Mine is much more ad hoc, apart from my Wednesdays. Plus, over the course of a year I’ve done a lot of experimenting with form and content – which is a fun, if inconsistent, way to blog! Maybe I could write a guest post about my experiences working at the British Library for you one day? Just not sure when, cos I have a lot on at the moment. You’ve given me some food for thought though.

    1. I think, in my case, the more planning I do the easier it is for me to keep with it. I’ve given myself a fair amount of room to write fun blog entries, and, of course, I maintain all rights to change my mind 🙂

      I’d love a guest post about working in the British Library 🙂 Absolutely no rush on it, though. I’ve been thinking over a ukulele themed Wednesday post for you, but I thought I might try to record a short video to go with it first 🙂

  2. Sounds like a good plan. By it’s nature, my blog is much more fluid, based on what I’m crafting at the time, but I do have a couple of regular features. I agree with you, the structure can be helpful.

  3. One of the things I initially wanted was a crafty post each week. That might happen as Squirm gets bigger, but at the moment, crafting is kind of taking a back seat, so the post idea had to go 🙂 But I like the library tours on Mondays and the nice posts on Fridays, so making it more ‘official’ made sense

  4. I’m toying around with a weekly plan for my blog too with IBOT, Crafty / Sewing on Monday, Wordless Wednesdays and a To-Do list day (maybe Thursdays or Fridays) as some sort of structure… Would love to do a library guest post – we go at least once a week to one of about 6 libraries near us. BTW – have a win a book comp on the blog atm, finishes tomorrow, if you are interested.
    http://www.danyabanya.com/2012/10/book-review-giveaway-sofias-jungle.html

Leave a Reply

