The Great Library Tour: Sandgate Library

Adventures of a Subversive Reader

The Sandgate Town Hall which contains the library

 

The Sangate Library was one that I was really looking forward to visiting as it is situated in the beautiful Sandgate Hall. I was a bit surprised, though, at how small it was – I think the double classroom my teaching partner and I had at the beginning of the year would have been bigger!

The library was the shape of a big rectangle, with the youth section in the back left hand corner next to the checkout desk. I had another surprise when I realised the only furniture in this section was book shelves! Squirm and I had to sit on the floor to enjoy the books. Despite the lack of furniture, it was a comfortable library, and I must say that we felt very welcomed by the lovely staff. The other nice thing was that, because the library set out all radiated out from a central point, it felt like everyone in the library was almost part of a community.

The small youth section (which included picture books, children’s novels and young adult) was very neat and tidy – as you need for such a small space. It had lovely, brightly coloured low shelves for the picture books, and a bright open bookshelf which held displays and board books. There were lovely reading posters and a display of wonderful Alison Lester prints.

There were lots of great books to choose from – and Squirm and I were so comfortable there that we read more than usual! As I said before, the staff were absolutely fabulous, and very interested when I told them about the Great Library Tour. This was a lovely little library, and since we’ve been invited back for baby rhyme time, it looks like we’ll be visiting again!

The best parts of Sandgate Library

  • Lovely feeling in the library
  • Books set out to make the most of the room without feeling crowded
  • Wonderful staff

Important Information about Sandgate Library

Sandgate Town Hall, Seymour St, Sandgate 4017

Website

Monday and Sunday: Closed
Tuesday: 10am – 5pm
Wednesday and Thursday: 10am – 6pm
Friday: 12 noon – 5pm
Saturday: 9am – 1pm

There is parking on the side streets, and usually it’s easy to find a park further up Seymour St.

While we were there . . .

I discovered Sandgate! It’s funny, Sandgate is only about 20 minutes drive from where I live and I had never been there before. I ended up wandering up and down the main street, discovering a couple of nice gift shops, a lovely little retro shop and an awesome second hand bookshop with awesome gifts available. You could also sit near the lagoon and enjoy the free council wi fi. There’s lots of places to eat, and I was told that a walk along the foreshore was definitely worth it (Squirm was getting – squirmy – so we left that for another day. I can’t wait to head back to Sandgate again

Adventures of a Subversive Reader

Adventures of a Subversive Reader
Little gazebos near the lagoon

Sandgate main street

Leave a Reply

