Where is this blog heading?

Some upcoming crochet - check out the inspiration!

Some upcoming crochet – check out the inspiration!

When I first started the blog I knew it would probably be a little eclectic. My interests change, they wane, they become a bigger part of my life. I didn’t want to button hole myself into one type of blog, when I knew there was a very real chance I may not be so interested in that topic down the track. Additionally, I wanted to be able to talk less about Squirm, particularly as he grows older and becomes more ‘recognisable’ and less baby.

Some parts of blogging have been really easy for me. The library tour, though it requires some planning to get out to a library, has been a lot of fun and a really rewarding experience. I may not be able to get to a library every week, but it will definitely remain a feature of the library. The kids book reviews can be harder at times, just trying to keep track of the new books we’ve read and which ones will be good to review. However, it’s also been rewarding and a very good way to think more about the books we read to Squirm. I’d like to keep it as a regular feature long into the future.

Weekly reflections on the other hand, or posts about organisation, have fallen by the wayside. They’re things I’m just not so passionate about, and things which become a chore easily.

You may have noticed a change in the blog over the last couple of weeks. I’ve been focusing more on reading and crocheting in my ‘offline’ life, and it’s great to be able to share that here at the blog. The posts with patterns have been quite popular, and I aim to continue designing patterns with a pop-culture element, and writing up the patterns to share. I may include some paid patterns down the track, but I’ll make sure there’s plenty of free ones to enjoy.

I’m also determined to get back into the AWW challenge with gusto. Over this week, I’d like to catch up with a number of reviews, which I’m really looking forward to sharing with you. Keep an eye out for some kids book reviews too.

Another thing which will stay are posts on play and on reading advocacy. These may not be regular, but they are things I’m passionate about and I’d find it nearly impossible not to talk about them!

So that’s the (near) future for me right now. So here’s a chance for you to put in requests – what kind of crochet patterns would you like to see?

7 comments

  1. While I am not into crochet (so I don’t have a pattern request for you) I hear what you are saying about having to write about what you are passionate about. Although not a blog, I love to write about my local area and I find out so many things that are going on right under my nose that I previously had absolutely no idea were even there.

    I really hope you still find time to do the library challenge as we use it to help plan our next library field trip for home schooling. I live on the Sunshine Coast but my wife now has membership to Pine Rivers libraries, thanks to you and your tour.

    “Keep it passionate”

    Phil

    1. That’s been the real bonus about getting out for the library challenge – there are some simply amazing things in South East Queensland which I never knew about! I’m so glad you find the tour helpful – I think we’re going to Nundah this week (to write up next week) though, the shorter Easter week might be a challenge!

Leave a Reply

