Subversive Reader Reviews: Love and Romanpunk (AWW2013)

Book reviews and AWW posts can be found here.

AWW2013 – Book 2

Love and Romanpunk

Adventures of a Subversive Reader: Love and Romanpunk
Tansy Rayner Roberts

Speculative Fiction

Kindle e-book, purchased through Amazon

~

(Disclaimer – I know the author through the internet)

Back in the olden days before I became a teacher, I completed an arts degree with a double major in Ancient History. My real love was Ancient Athens (I even learned Ancient Greek), but I did have a certain fondness for the early empire.

Which, luckily for me, is what Love and Romanpunk is based around.

The book is part of the Twelve Planet series and consists of four short, related stories. In the first one, Julia Agrippina’s Secret Family Bestiary, we are introduced to the background to our story, told by my favourite of all Roman women (I studied Nero a little, so spent way too long designing collapsible boats with other wayward students. Did I mention we drank a lot of wine in the Ancient History department?) It turns out that the twists and turns of the early Roman empire where not caused by revolution and jealousy and a certain fondness for horses alone. Instead, there were numerous creatures and beings, some of them members of the ruling family. While we learn about the Roman world, which is kind of as we knew it, we are being fed information which sets up the next three stories – including the introduction of Lamia – Roman vampires.

In Lamia Victoriana, we follow these creatures to Victorian times. We then slip forward in history to a Roman City built in the Australian outback in The Patrician, before heading into the future in Last of the Romanpunks. Each story builds on the last, and I must admit that I really feel like I should read the whole lot again so that I can really understand it even better.

I don’t read a huge amount of short stories, but I understand that it’s a delicate balancing act to create fleshed out characters, without getting bogged down in lengthy character exposition. I think Love and Romanpunk does an excellent job of doing this, building on characters that we ‘know’ and creating characters that are very easy to care about. I would easily want to read more about the different ‘worlds’ we are introduced to.

I really loved this book and I would recommend this book to history lovers, of course, but also to people who aren’t usually interested in speculative fiction, but would like to dip their toes in a bit. The format is a great way to be introduced to Australian speculative fiction, and I look forward to reading more of them. I believe Love and Romanpunk had sold out in the print form, but is easily found through Kindle or the Twelfth Planet Press website.

 

awwbadge_2013

4 responses to “Subversive Reader Reviews: Love and Romanpunk (AWW2013)

  1. Pingback: Books, podcasts, and I am not actually stalking Tansy Rayner Roberts « maidenly delicacy of speech·

  2. Pingback: Jan-Feb Speculative Fiction Round-up | Australian Women Writers Challenge·

  3. Pingback: Short Stories Roundup Jan-April 2013 | Australian Women Writers Challenge·

  4. Pingback: What’s going on? | Adventures of a Subversive Reader·

Leave a Reply

