AWW Challenge 2013: Week One

Follow my journey through the AWW 2013 challenge here

It seems like I’ve really jumped quickly out of the gate on this one – which is how I tend to approach things at the beginning of the year. It’s possible that things will slacken in a month or two. Alternately, because I’m keeping a public record, I might actually be able to keep this up all year.

This week, I completed and reviewed four AWW books for myself, and read three AWW books to Squirm. The books for Squirm were completely coincidental – they just happened to be books I’d borrowed from the library before Christmas, which were written by Australian women. There are a lot of excellent picture books by Australian women writers and illustrators – there’s the big names of Mem Fox and Jackie French, of course, but I’m also coming across other familiar names like Tania Cox (her With Nan is still a big time favourite of mine) who I enjoy reading very much.

For my own reading, I found that the challenge has already moved me out of my ‘traditional’ comfort zone, and I’ve read two speculative fiction books! I also read a contemporary adult book and a contemporary young adult book. Out of the fours books, one was disappointing, but I enjoyed the other three very much (and I’m really looking forward to a reread of one.)

AWW2013 - Week One

Subversive Reader Books Read and Reviewed

Squirm Books Read

  • 1. Baby by Tania Cox
  • 2. A Giraffe in the Bath by Mem Fox
  • 3. Harriet, You’ll Drive Me Wild by Mem Fox

6 comments

  1. Great progress already! I loved Love and Romanpunk, and Team Human is on my want to read list. Hopefully, since you enjoyed them, you might consider reading more speculative fiction over the year ;-)

  2. Wow that’s some speedy work! I look forward to more of your reviews. I received a Kindle for Christmas and have read more in the last week than in the previous 3 months!

Leave a Reply

