Adventures of a Subversive Reader

Home Organisation 101: My Messy Big Secret

So far while doing Home Organisation 101, I’ve been doing projects which need not much more than a little organising and a little decoration. It’s all been relatively tidy, which makes me look like a tidy person. Unfortunately, I’m nowhere near as tidy as one might suspect.

You see, there’s this.

Adventures of a Subversive Reader Adventures of a Subversive Reader

And this.

Adventures of a Subversive Reader

This is my office/study/craft room. I want to get it neat, organised and safe for Squirm to play in when he gets older. The problem is, it’s also the room where everything ‘goes’. Whenever I need to do a quick clean up or put something that I don’t need until later, this is where it goes. And stays. And builds up into gigantic piles of . . . stuff.

So by posting these photos, I’ll have other people looking on, (possibly) wondering if I can ever work it out. There’s no way to wriggle out of doing the work that’s obviously needed. There’s no way of getting out of throwing away the things which need to be thrown away. I’ll have motivation to make it better.

I have started. So far, I’ve cleaned out the book shelf, taking a large collection of books to the charity shops. Now to tackle the rest of the room . . .

I’ll keep you updated 🙂

Adventures of a Subversive Reader

There is a desk under there. Somewhere.

12 comments

    1. I think it’s so overwhelming because I usually only fit 15 minutes or so of work in before I need to do something for Squirm. A good couple of hours and I’d get so much more done!

  1. you may not believe me, but I could trump this room. Should I ever work out how to upload a photo, I’ll send it to you.
    I say be proud and hold out against convention…

  2. I have those same pink tissue paper pom-poms junking up my house! I went on a similar mission earlier this year and made a list of 33 things that needed to go. I can’t post the link here, but if you visit my blog the post is called 33 days to tidy.
    Good luck – I’ll check back on your progress! #FYBF.

Leave a comment